Paid Sick Time Off Attorneys in Burbank
Protecting Your Right to Rest & Recover
What is California’s Paid Sick Time Law and when did it go into effect?
As of July 1, 2015, eligible employees in California are entitled to paid sick time off. For those eligible employees whose employers did not already have sick leave policies, this law gives the employees the right to accrue and take paid sick leave.
How do I know if I am eligible for paid sick leave?
To be eligible for sick leave, you must: (1) work for the same employer, on or after January 1, 2015, for at least 30 days within a year in California, and (2) satisfy a 90-day employment period (similar to a probationary period) before taking any sick leave.
My job requires me to travel a lot and I may not work in California for 30 days within a year, am I eligible for paid sick leave?
If you work less than 30 calendar days within a year for the same employer in California, then you are not entitled to paid sick leave under this new law. Each situation is different though, so contact an employment lawyer in Burbank at the Akopyan Law Firm to discuss your case.
What if I only work part-time, am I still eligible for paid sick leave?
Except for a few exceptions, all eligible employees, including part-time, per diem, and temporary employees are eligible for paid sick leave.
How much paid sick leave must my employer provide me?
Although some employers may have more generous paid sick leave policies than the law requires, under California’s law, at a minimum an employer must provide and allow employees to use at least 24 hours or three days of paid sick leave per year.
Contact our employment law attorneys in Burbank to discuss your paid sick leave case. Call (818) 509-9975 today.