Minimum Wage Lawyers in Burbank
Guiding You Through The Complexities of Minimum Wage Laws
Traditionally it was not difficult for employees to figure out what is the minimum wage their employer must pay. However, because minimum wage laws have developed on both a national, state, and local level, and because these laws change frequently, it is not always easy for employees in California to figure out just what the minimum wage is for them.
For example, a nonexempt employee working in the City of Los Angeles in August of 2020 would potentially receive protection from several minimum laws. The Federal Labor Standards Act – the federal law governing the payment of wages – would require the employer to pay a minimum hourly wage of $7.25. The California Labor Code – the state law governing the payment of wages – would require the employer to pay a minimum hourly wage of $12.00 if the employer employs 25 or fewer employees, and a minimum hourly wage of $13.00 if the employer employs 26 or more employees. If the employee was a qualified employee in the City of Los Angeles, the Los Angeles City Living Wage Ordinance would require the employer to pay a minimum hourly wage of $15.00. Needless to say figuring out which of these minimum wage requirements are applicable to a given situation is not always easy. Each law comes with its own set of requirements, exemptions, and exceptions. While generally an employer must follow the law that provides employees with the most protection, determining which law applies is not always easy.
Los Angeles Minimum Wage Attorney
If you are in the Los Angeles area and have a question about minimum wage, a minimum wage lawyer in Los Angeles can help. Call one of our minimum wage attorneys to discuss your specific situation. Our employment lawyers handle minimum wage cases throughout Southern California. If you need a minimum wage lawyer in Los Angeles or any of its surroundings, give us a call.
Enforcing Employee Rights to Minimum Wage
Wage and hour laws have many nuances. Minimum wage law is not “one size fits all.” The minimum wage due an employee may be calculated by determining: (1) the statutory minimum wage; (2) whether any subminimum wage provisions apply; (3) whether any credits apply; and (4) whether the employee is entitled to a split-shift premium. Therefore, if you feel your rights may have been violated and need to speak with a minimum wage lawyer in Los Angeles County, the Akopyan Law Firm A.P.C. can help with your specific situation. We have years of experience in all facets of employment law and are dedicated to getting you the justice you deserve. Contact us today for a complimentary case evaluation
Personal Attention From A Los Angeles Minimum Wage Lawyer
If you are in Los Angeles, or surrounding areas you can try to find a lawyer by using search terms like “best minimum wage lawyer Los Angeles” or “minimum wage attorney Los Angeles” or “best minimum lawyer near me” but you might end up speaking with a receptionist and not getting a call back from an actual attorney. To speak directly with a minimum wage lawyer personally, contact us today, and speak to one of our minimum wage attorneys.
Experienced Minimum Wage Attorney To Enforce Your Rights
The minimum wage lawyers of the Akopyan Law Firm, A.P.C. have experience in cases involving minimum wage violations. If you believe that your right to minimum wage has been violated call us today for your complimentary case evaluation. Our minimum wage lawyers in Los Angeles County can fight to recover wages you are owed.
Frequently Asked Questions About Minimum Wage
What is the minimum wage in California?
On January 1, 2020, the minimum wage in California became $12.00 per hour for employers with 25 or less employees and $13.00 for employers with 26 or more employees. However, depending on what city you live in, you may be entitled to more. For example, in the City of Los Angeles, on July 1, 2020, the minimum wage for employers with 26 or more employees became $15.00 per hour for qualified employees. The law is constantly changing and evolving, so you should contact an employment law attorney in Burbank to discuss your specific situation. We offer complimentary case evaluations.
Can I be forced to work for less than the minimum wage in California?
Generally, nonexempt employees cannot be paid less than minimum wage. However, the quickest way to determine whether any minimum wage requirements have been violated is to contact a minimum wage attorney.
What if I get paid tips too? Can my boss use that amount as credit toward the minimum wages?
Generally no. Whether you work at a restaurant, hair salon, nail salon, car wash, or any other business where tips are given, your employer cannot use your tips as a credit toward its obligation to pay you the minimum wage.
What if my employer retaliated against me because I questioned him about not being paid the minimum wage?
If your employer discriminates or retaliates against you (such as by terminating or demoting you) because you questioned them about not being paid the minimum wage or because you filed or threatened to file a claim with the Labor Commissioner, then you can file a discrimination and retaliation lawsuit.
Contact the employment lawyers in Burbank to discuss your minimum wage case. Call (818) 509-9975 today.
Our minimum wage lawyers represent clients throughout Southern California including the following areas among others:
Arleta, Burbank, Chatsworth, Eagle Rock, Encino, Glendale, Glassell Park, Granada Hills, Highland Park, Hollywood, Hollywood Hills, La Canada Flintridge, La Crescenta, Lake Balboa, Los Angeles, Los Feliz, North Hills, North Hollywood, Northridge, Pacoima, Panorama City, Porter Ranch, Reseda, San Fernando, Sherman Oaks, Silver Lake, Studio City, Sun Valley, Sunland, Sylmar, Tarzana, Toluca Lake, Tujunga, Valley Glen, Valley Village, Van Nuys, Winnetka, Woodland Hills
Los Angeles County, Orange County, Riverside County, San Bernardino County, San Diego County, Ventura County